In 1863 the Confederate earthworks, Batteries Pringle and Tynes, were constructed by enslaved people and soldiers to serve as part of General P.G.T. Beauregard’s “New Lines.” Hurriedly constructed, both served as part of the James Island defenses which protected Charleston from Federal attack via Morris and Folly Islands. Although well-armed, the small number of officers and enlisted men posted to these fortifications endured heat, supply shortages and punishing artillery barrages in the summer of 1864, when the strategic defensive position became the target of Federal forces on the Stono River.
Listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the batteries are protected within the confines of The Charleston Museum’s Dill Sanctuary and are regarded among the most well-preserved Confederate fortifications in the country.
Join Chief of Collections Jennifer McCormick to explore these historically important landmarks and better understand their strategic importance in the Civil War.
Please note: this is an “off-road” location with steep inclines and unprepared terrain. Walking shoes/boots are recommended.
Reservations, social distancing and masks when in close proximity required.
$40 Museum Members | $55 Non-Members
Register online or call 843.722.2996 ext. 224
"*" indicates required fields