SC Biz News


Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters

Deadline for federal emergency assistance extended

  • cmsteam
Print Story
  • Share

Staff Report
Published Dec. 1, 2015

A 30-day extension has been granted for registration for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Individual Assistance Program. Twenty-four S.C. counties are eligible, include Greenville, Greenwood and Spartanburg counties in the Upstate.

South Carolinians affected by October’s rains and flooding now have until Jan. 4 to apply for disaster assistance with FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration. Assistance can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-interest loans from the SBA to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster.

Those who sustained losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 800-621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a teletypewriter, or TTY, can call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service can call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

In addition to the Upstate counties, the following counties are eligible to apply for assistance: Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Fairfield, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Marion, Newberry, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter and Williamsburg.

  • Share
Write a Comment