Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
SC Biz News

Business Services

University of South Carolina receives SBA grant

Business Services
  • Share

The University of South Carolina is one of 33 nationwide recipients of U.S. Small Business Administration grants of up to $125,000 each to facilitate training, mentoring and technical assistance for research and development-focused small businesses.

The Federal and State Technology Partnership program grants aim to improve outcomes in the SBA's Small Business Innovation Research and Small Business Technology Transfer programs for underserved communities by increasing participation from women-owned, rural-based, and socially or economically disadvantaged small businesses. 

"Our FAST Partnership Program is designed to empower the innovation ecosystem at the local level and help underserved communities gain access to SBIR and STTR, or America's Seed Fund - the largest source of early-stage capital in the United States," SBA Administrator Isabella Guzman said in a news release from the SBA. "FAST's continued growth will strengthen the national innovation ecosystem and ensure all small businesses are better-positioned in this next stage of recovery to address unprecedented investments to reimagine our future economy that will be made available through the Bipartisan Infrastructure Framework and President Biden's Build Back Better agenda."

The FAST program makes awards for a base period of 12 months plus two optional continuation periods of 12 months to eligible organizations. The University of South Carolina received a grant for the second year.

Other recipients include state and local economic development organizations, Women's Business Centers, and economic incubator, catalyst and accelerator programs. 

Base year 2022 cohort grant recipients are: 

  • Arizona Commerce Authority
  • Innovation Gateway at the University of Georgia 
  • Kentucky Science and Technology Corp.
  • Louisiana Business & Technology Center/LSU
  • The Curators at the University of Missouri
  • Puerto Rico Small Business and Technology Development Centers 
  • South Dakota Biotech Council
  • Launch TN (Tennessee)
  • Center for Technology Commercialization (Wisconsin)

2021 cohorts receiving grants for the second year are:

  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock-Arkansas SBTDC
  • The Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade
  • Connecticut Innovations Inc.
  • University of Delaware
  • Hawaii Technology Development Corp.
  • Enterprise Works at the University of Illinois
  • Wichita State University (Kansas)
  • Maryland Technology Development Corp.
  • Minnesota Technology Association 
  • Innovate Mississippi
  • Montana State University
  • Nebraska Business Development Center, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • UNHInnovation (New Hampshire)
  • Arrowhead Center at New Mexico State University
  • First Flight Venture Center Inc. (North Carolina)
  • Ohio Aerospace Institute 
  • OK Catalyst (Oklahoma)
  • VertueLab (Oregon)
  • Ben Franklin Technology Partners Corp. (Pennsylvania)
  • University of South Carolina
  • SWTXB SBDC Technology Commercialization Center (Texas)
  • Center for Innovative Technology (Virginia)
  • TechConnect West Virginia 
  • University of Wyoming Small Business Development Center

Reach Melinda Waldrop at 803-726-7542.

  • Share
Write a Comment

Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters