Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
SC Biz News

Business Services

S.C. Chamber of Commerce recognizes 3 state leaders

Business Services
  • Share

A congressman, an executive and a brigadier general are being honored with the S.C. Chamber of Commerce’s annual awards.

Rep. James Clyburn has been named the public servant of the year, while Sonoco president and CEO Howard Coker is the business leader of the year and Brig. Gen. Milford H. Beagle Jr. the recipient of the Sgt. William Jasper Freedom Award.

“Our list of 2021 award winners exemplify the diverse, exceptionally strong group of leaders we have here in South Carolina,” Bob Morgan, president and CEO of the S.C. Chamber, said in a news release.

The 2021 award winners will be honored at the 42nd South Carolina Chamber of Commerce summit, to be held Nov. 1-3 at The Sanctuary at Kiawah. 

The public servant award recognizes a state government official who has contributed to the overall well-being of South Carolina. Clyburn has represented South Carolina’s 6th Congressional District since 1993 and has been the House majority whip since 2019.   

The business leader of the year is chosen based on criteria including ethical conduct and corporate responsibility, public service, and a commitment to creating a positive business climate. Coker became CEO of Sonoco, S.C.’s largest company in terms of sales, in 2020 and led the company through an expansion of its Hartsville facility.

The freedom award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the freedom of the state and the nation. Beagle, an S.C. native and graduate of S.C. State University, served as commanding general at Fort Jackson from 2018 until leaving that post to become commanding general of the 10th Mountain Division (Light) at Fort Drum in New York earlier this month.   

Reach Melinda Waldrop at 803-726-7542.

  • Share
Write a Comment

Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters